Parrot bush and the lazy Sunday afternoon

Sheila Murray
3 min readNov 8, 2020

--

Day 15 Banksia sessilis a plant a day Lowlands Reserve 8 November 2020

In bud in seed in flower today, my photos in Lowlands Reserve 8 November 2020 , Banksia sessilis, and a tiny bug in one of the photos

Lots I could say about the parrot bush, but I googled it and Wikipedia has just the most amazing entry on parrot bush, far more comprehensive than the Wikipedia entry on Banksia grandis . So I’m having a lazy Sunday afternoon, thanks to Wikipedia for providing all the info. Click here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banksia_sessilis

Black cockatoos and 28s are supposed to love this parrot bush. I haven’t particularly noticed this, even though it flowers randomly in the reserve throughout the year. What I have noticed is how much the Baudins black cockatoos are LOVING eating the rose geranium (Pelargonium capitatum) , more about his later in the week. For now, here are some photos of the 30 odd black cockatoos I disturbed feeding on the rose geranium in a neighbouring block, unfussed by the parrot bushes and native diversity right just over the fence in the reserve.

my photos the black cockatoos fleeing after I distrubed them eating the rose geranium

Wikipedia entry for Banksia sessilis is amazing! — keep up the good work Wikipedia. I’m so blown away by it, even down to uncertainty about whether the Noongar name for parrot bush is “Pudjak” — (Moore given as source, but for Banksia fraseri, and spelling changed from budjan/butyak to pudjak) . Banksia/Dryandra sessilis is no stranger to controversy , the differences of opinion over the inclusion and renaming of all dryandras as banksias, being the case in point! I was seriously thinking of just copying and pasting the whole Wikipedia article here…, seriously, just check it out! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banksia_sessilis

My fundraising for Bush Heritage #groundworkchallenge is going well . To join my team or donate go to https://www.groundworkchallenge.org.au/fundraisers/sheilamurray/2020?fbclid=IwAR2HbNn0YsCCc3tiSK-_lbF5xLsssaD8wjGHaUwVYrRqYxM-kdJkijoj2N0

Follow me on instagram and twitter @lowlandsbeach . https://www.instagram.com/lowlandsbeach/

https://twitter.com/lowlandsbeach

I am on Menang Boodja (country). I celebrate the strength, resilience and capacity of the Menang people of the Noongar nation who are the traditional owners of the land.

--

--

Sheila Murray

Biodiversity bliss finding, Story minding, cloud watching, respect for Aboriginal culture, patrolling Lowlands Reserve on foot.