Holly Leaved Banksias, the More, the Merrier, plus Fairy Floss Spider!

Sheila Murray
5 min readDec 4, 2020

Day 42, Banksia ilicifolia, a plant a day, Lowlands Reserve, 5 December 2020

A welcome traveller on my jacket, Arkys walkenaeri spider,a juvenile, thats why shes pink and blue , Lowlands Reserve, 4 December 2020
Banksia ilicifolia under the powerlines on our block 4 December 2020

On my daily walks , I occasionally have decided in advance which plant to feature. Today, I set off in seach of Banksia ilicifolia, which I know grows under the powerlines in the native bush area of our block at Lowlands, and which also grows just east of Muttonbird on the Bibbulmun track, and I also knew it grows just east of Tennessee south in Lowlands Reserve. Its easy to find on our block, Nadene saved it from the clearing by Western Power a few years back, so its very memorable and I took some photos today. But then I couldn’t find it on my quick foray in the east end of Lowlands Reserve.

I kept thinking I’d found it in the reserve, only to find all I’d seen was extra large specimens of Banksia sessilis (featured on Day 15), some over 3 metres high!

Here is my photo from 2017 of both Banksia illicifolia and Banksia sessilis growing together in the spot I searched this morning in the Reserve with no luck. I’ll go back again tomorrow, when I have more time.

Banksia illicifolia at the top, Banksia sessilis at the bottom of the photo, Lowlands Reserve 2017

But anyway, any frustration was immediately forgotten, when I searched my clothing for more ticks, I’d brought one tick home already, only to find this beautiful Arkys species spider. I was hoping she would spin me some Fairy Floss, but she only managed one silken thread. Like the flower spider, this one is an ambush predator, that catches her prey with her long front hairy legs . I carefully took her outside, hoping to get some more photos, but she moved off at the speed of light as soon as she saw the ground!

And she’s off, too fast for a clear photo

Len Van Der Waag in Denmark (30km west of here) takes brilliant photos of the wonders in his home block. Here is one of Len’s totally amazing photos of Arkys Walckenaeri all grown up https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=1627390490774796&set=pcb.1627418640771981

This is what Arkys Walkenaeri looks like when all grown up. Thank you to Len Van der Waag for brilliant photo https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=1627390490774796&set=pcb.1627418640771981

Arkys are definitely trending around on the south coast right now , Lee Murphy, another wonderful local nature enthusiast in Denmark, recently took this stunning photo https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=1793058124193423&set=pcb.1559464380912753

Another Denmark adult Arkys, from Lee Murphy. Thank you Lee for beautiful photo https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=1793058124193423&set=pcb.1559464380912753

Why I was looking for Banksia ilicifolia, was firstly because “holly-leaved” has a festive feel to it, and secondly, because research suggests that small populations of less than 20 trees are in danger of extinction on longterm time scales. The species itself is not endangered, but it does seem a shame that the three nearby populations I know of, may not survive for generations to come , due to poor seed setting and lack of genetic diversity. The researchers found that seed from populations of 20 or more were germinating in greater numbers than were seeds from small populations. Hence the more, the merrier, and the better the germination success https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1978301916302376

Flower ages and stages, Banksia ilicifolia under our powerlines , 4 December 2020

I love the way with Banksias, that you get flowers and fruits in all ages and stages, even on the one tree.

Banksia ilicifolia under our powerlines , 4 December 2020

I was looking for clues about the insects that live in the galls, however, these black specks on the immature flower close up are unidentified debris

First photo , galls and sadly empty seed cases, next photo, close up of immature flower, with debris, more galls, Banksia ilicifolia under our powerlines , 4 December 2020

Writing this daily blog featuring a plant a day and walking daily is my fundraising effort for Bush Heritage #groundworkchallenge . To join my team or donate go to https://www.groundworkchallenge.org.au/fundraisers/sheilamurray/2020?fbclid=IwAR2HbNn0YsCCc3tiSK-_lbF5xLsssaD8wjGHaUwVYrRqYxM-kdJkijoj2N0

Lowlands Coastal Reserve is on Menang Boodja — country. I celebrate the strength, resilience and capacity of the Menang Noongar people who are the traditional owners of the land.

Lowlands Coastal Reserve is managed by the local community and the City of Albany. Bush Heritage Australia manage many other wonderful reserves.

Follow me on instagram and twitter @lowlandsbeach . https://www.instagram.com/lowlandsbeach/

https://twitter.com/lowlandsbeach

and on Linked in https://www.linkedin.com/in/sheila-murray-2730491bb/

--

--

Sheila Murray

Biodiversity bliss finding, Story minding, cloud watching, respect for Aboriginal culture, patrolling Lowlands Reserve on foot.